The Fool and the Flying Ship

I love stop-motion animation. Films like The Nightmare Before Christmas feel so wonderful and real.

I remember the moment I developed this love. I remember watching TV one afternoon when I was just a little kid. On one of the childrenchannels there was this film. This awesome film about a boy who gets a flying ship. It’s a well known Russian fairytale, a great story. And I was wholly enchanted by all that was happening on my screen. The old man who secrectly builds the beautiful flying ship out of snow and ice while Pjotr (the protagonist) is sleeping. All the different characters Pjotr picks up on his journey to the Tsar.
These were real people to me, I could see them moving and laughing and being sad. This wasn’t some film made of drawings, those were real living puppets, they could touch each other and interact with their surroundings. It was one of those films that just stick in your mind and never leave. And I wouldn’t want it to.
I have often wondered where I could find it again. Nobody I asked knew the film. It didn’t help that I asked it like ‘that film about a boy named Pjotr and a flying ship and an army of twigs’. But yesterday Google and Wikipedia aligned (like the stars) for me and my search paid off. It’s called The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship (watch a few bits edited together on YouTube). There is only one place that has a dvd of it (Amazon) and that’s currently unavailable. I would love to have this film in the Dutch version, because that’s how I remember it. But the English would be awesome too. Thankfully I’ve found a torrent of it, and it just finished the download. I will go and watch it after posting this.

So there you have it, the film that’s responsible for me loving stop-motion animation. The comments of that youtube video show that I’m not the only one who remembers it from seeing it as a child. There’s even someone asking if anyone knows where he can find a Dutch version. 🙂

In other stop-motion news, I cannot wait for Coraline to come to Dutch theaters. I love the book, and I think stop-motion is the best way to bring it to the big screen. It sucks that I’ll have to wait until May 15th for it.

7 thoughts on “The Fool and the Flying Ship

  1. I have seen “The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship” and it was fantastic!! I love the characters and the storyline, but probably the best part would have to be the animation. The characters are all so lifelike that for a minute there I thought there were real people acting in that story.

  2. I know! I watched it after posting this, and it is every bit as awesome as I remember it. I was so glad when I finally found out the name of the film and that I wasn’t the only one who loves it.

  3. Hoi,

    Zou jij The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship weer willen gaan uploaden? We zijn er al een tijdje naar op zoek en de april-torrent is helaas overleden.

    Mazzel, Mark

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

