Fear and writing

I am afraid to write. I fear that I will fail, that I cannot give shape to the story. That all my idea’s are halves and none will ever be a full story. I write bits and pieces. Tatters. Nothing I commit to words ever feels complete. Writing is what I’ve always wanted to do, what I’ve always loved. Ever since I learned in school I barely did anything else but make up stories and write them down. I don’t know when I started to be afraid. It probably happened at the same age for me as it does for everybody. We all learn to be afraid.

I should probably just start again and see where I end up. I can never get better at writing if I don’t practice. Even if it turns out to be just an other incomplete story.

2 thoughts on “Fear and writing

  1. Practice makes perfect. And don’t forget that you can keep editing and polishing your writing until you’re reading to share it with everyone.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

