The room was much as I remembered it, or looked as if it was as I remembered, for memories are always eager to match themselves seamlessly to the things and places of a revisited past.” – Max in The Sea by John Banville

Sometimes I really dislike Max, the narrator of The Sea. The way he describes some women rubs me the wrong way and he can be pompous in his descriptions of locations and feelings. But then suddenly he comes up with a beautiful observation like the quote above. He is a man looking back at his live because he sees very little of it if he tries to look ahead and this leads to an interesting perspective on youth, adulthood, and memories.

The Sea is because of the long sentences not a quick read. I’ve started and finished other books while reading it, but I am having the urge to sometimes write a blogpost like this one (and the last one) because of something I’ve read in The Sea. So while it is taking me a long time to read this book, it’s giving me thoughts, and that is always a good sign.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

