Soundtrack of my life

Sometimes when I’m walking outside and listening to music a song or two shuffles by that really fit the moment. It makes my heart leap with the joy of recognition. There are some songs that give me a lot of these moments, because they just fit my life. Not necessarily because the lyrics fit me, but the song overal. I have it with Bettie Serveerts ‘Lover I don’t have to love’ and the lyrics aren’t true for me at all, I want someone I can love unapologetically and without complication. (A better truth would be Pete Yorns ‘Ever fallen in love’ (With someone you shouldn’t have fallen in love with) Only all the fucking time.)

There are just some songs that from the moment I meet them they stay in my life. That make me pay attention no matter how often I hear them. Songs like Meredith Brooks’ ‘It don’t get better’ and Tom McRaes ‘Got a suitcase, got regrets’. Both songs that are in their way about being broken but hopeful. Snow Patrols ‘The Lightning Strike’ calls up such beautiful imagery in my head that I can’t help but love it. There’s also the songs that bring back memories of a certain time in my life. Like K’s Choices entire Cocoon Crash album. I still love that music and that is in part because I started listening to it way back when I was in secondary school and life was full of promise. (It still is, just in a different way now.)

And then I wonder, do other people connect in the same way to music? I know more people who get very passionate about music too, but I wonder whether they experience the feeling of having their own soundtrack (so to speak) as well. And which songs do they connect with?

One thought on “Soundtrack of my life

  1. When you see A lot of bands live or go to musicfestivals they automatically intertwine with experiences. For example: A very special snow patrol at lowlands because of an OD of glowsticks. Those memories Will always return when hearing certain songs. For me bands with the most attached memories are Coldplay, Elbow, snow patrol, Genesis and the prodigy. And this aren’t just the live experience memories, but special feelings and special people attached to it too.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

