In which Eefje talks about drawing and writing blogposts

For nearly six months I’ve been able to update my blog at least once a week, but suddenly now I find that it’s been over a week since my last post. I don’t know why. It’s not for a lack of things to post about, I have two posts as drafts and an idea for a third. I just wasn’t happy with them yet so I didn’t post them.

Sometimes when I start writing something the words come easy to me, and I like the rythm of the text. Other times, like with one of the posts I had started as a draft the text doesn’t flow at all and as a result it’s very unpleasant to read. I guess that’s normal, but it still feels strange. What makes me suck when I suck and what makes me good when I’m good? I can’t tell.

Compared to other skills I’ve been working on, writing is pretty elusive. In contrast I know exactly why some drawings don’t work yet when I start something new. Lately I’ve been practicing drawing directly in Photoshop. This is a new way of drawing for me, I normally start a picture with pencil and paper and often also finish it with other analog tools. And while I have been colouring scanned sketches in photoshop for a while now, I’m still very much at the beginning of learning how to use that side of the program. So I know why I sometimes suck, it’s a part of the learing curve. When the result is not what I want it’s because I still have to get used to all the new possibilities and how to use my tablet in a way that translates what I want to achieve on my screen. And when I get used to that I will keep running into the limits of my current drawing abilities. I get that. I know my limits and try to push them.

Right now I’m also trying different drawing styles. I’m going for a more comic style because I want to become a diverse illustrator. Adding this to the photoshop learning curve is maybe not so smart (doubly hard!) but it’s interesting. I have to get my brain and hands used to doing something different. When that goes wrong I often end up with kids who have weird adult-sized arms. :p I’ve I’ve got a sketch I like and that has as correct an anatomy as I’m currently capable off, which is nice since it’s an illustration for the next issue of The Anglerfish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

