Halloween! A post that is late

And just like that it’s been a month since I posted anything here. A Whole month in which I worked on a new issue of The Anglerfish, went to FACTS, celebrated my nieces 3rd birthday and joined my nephews on a Halloween walk that scared the crap out of them. A month in which I lost my internet connection and re-established it, started my own Redbubble shop and watched a bunch of tv-shows and films.

So, Halloween! It’s an American holiday that is becoming more and more a part of Dutch culture too. I like it, I used to be a scaredy cat when I was little but now I love scary things. (Possibly because I don’t find them to be super scary anymore but just fun.) So in the week before Halloween when I was at my brothers to celebrate my nieces third birthday (I got her dress up wings and my little ponies and she enjoyed being all sweet and cuddly with me) at night there was also a Halloween themed walk that I joined my nephews on (4 and 6 years old). It was at night, we all got lanterns and there were people dressed up as all sorts of creepy crawly things hidden in the woods and telling stories, it was awesome. My youngest nephew got a little too scared, so in some parts I carried him and kept him away from any hidden monsters I could spot. I thought the walk was very cool and a great way of incorporating the holiday into our own lives without trying to trick-or-treat in a place where very few people would actually have candy to give out. On the actual evening of Halloween I got home late from work and spend the night building this awesome Haunted House lego set that I had treated myself to while watching The Nightmare Before Christmas, a film which I love with all my heart.

And speaking of Halloween, it was naturally the theme of the October issue of The Anglerfish, for which I drew the cover. That’s right! I did a cover!

Halloween cover

This is the version without the logo, go look at the actual magazine to see it in context.

I’ll discuss some of the other stuff I did this month in other posts!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

