Day of the Doctor and the Anglerfish

Like all Doctor Who fans I was living toward the 50th aniversary special. I had been worried that it wouldn’t live up to the anticipation, that anything would be a let down no matter what. But when I was settling down to watch it I realised it didn’ matter, because I was going to see it with friends who felt the same.

The entire day the five of us spend in The Efteling, a Dutch theme park which is awesome (seriously, if you’re ever in the Netherlands, visit it). The fun started when the five of us, tall and big Dutch adults, squashed ourselfs in Pims little car to go to the park. Bad jokes and a lot of laughter set the tone of the entire day. I love these people. We’re all mad in similar ways so we get each other and we’re all so comfortable with each other. There is no akwardness when someone makes a stupid joke that falls flat, we just move on to the next thing. I don’t have to worry about what they think of me because I know they think I’m just as awesome as I think they are.

In the evening we all ate pancakes and settled in for Day of the Doctor. We all enjoyed it immensly and it blew our minds in all the same places. Sharing being a fan of something is awesome. We discussed the episode over a couple of beers and it was a good day.

In other news: there is a new Anglerfish! Full off Doctor Who goodies, for all of us who are going through withdrawal after Day of the Doctor.

Martha

I drew a Martha! The article that this illustrations goes with is critical of the writing of her character, but I just wanted to draw her because I think she’s a boss. I like Martha Jones. And my problems with the writing wasn’t about her character but about how her character was treated. Still, I think the article is an interesting take on why fandom is so divided on Martha Jones.

There is also an article on Selfie culture, and I illustrated that too:

Selfie

5 thoughts on “Day of the Doctor and the Anglerfish

    • We’ll make a couple more of such days before the year is over. 🙂

      “The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. Hey. The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice versa, the bad things don’t necessarily spoil the good things or make them unimportant. And we definitely added to his pile of good things.” – The Doctor in ‘Vincent and the Doctor’

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

