About drawing, hair and a tattoo

Portait

Look I made a portrait in Paper by 53 on my iPad!

I haven’t been drawing much lately, and I miss it. It always takes me a while to realise it, because it’s not as if I’m not doing other things that I like with the time that I’m not drawing. I play games, I read, I watch tv shows, I take photographs and edit them. (Soon I will start sharing more photos again!) So sometimes my sketchbook lays forgotten and neglected in the mess that is my home.

Until I started with pencil and paper again for the illustrations I did for the current issue of The Anglerfish (it’s out now, and I’ll share some more on my work in it later). The last couple of issues I’ve been working on fully digital illustrations because I want to develop that side of me more, and it’s been fun and I’m mostly happy with the results. But I haven’t actually done much analog drawing and picking up a pencil again made me realise how much I miss it.
So yesterday, in the train on my way to work, I took out my sketchbook and decided to just try something. I often feel like drawing but never start because I haven’t got an idea for what to draw yet.

It’s just some quick sketching and not all that interesting, but it gave me a boost. I should stop worrying about not having an idea for what to draw yet and just put the pencil on the paper and start. I think my commutes are good places to start.

And the fun thing is, that drawing analog made me take out my iPad this morning and continue on a page in Paper that I had started a while back. I came across the blog of Michael Rose a couple of weeks ago, and he has some very nice tutorials for mastering Paper. Even if you don’t actually want to make painting like pages, it’s still fun to see how he works his layers. I recommend it if you’ve got the app. Made Mistakes.

I also tried a new hairstyle today.

Trying a new hairstyle today. #hairadventures

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

Sometimes I find it hard to believe the person in the picture is me. I look so artsy and cool. (But then I just have to look at the rejected selfies before I got one that was good enough and I remember that I am still just a person, and that’s okay.)

If my old self of several years ago would see me now, she’d be amazed that I can be this person. That the only thing needed for pulling of purple hair is to dye your hair purple. It’s not that I feel like I missed out on trying different styles when I was younger, I wasn’t very interested in dying my hair and experimenting with it then (other than the occasional CUT IT ALL OFF impulse), but that it could be so simple to just try things would not have occurred to her in the same sense as it’s a part of me now. This isn’t a big, radial change in me. It’s one that happened over time, like all real changes do.

It can still be scary. Like planning my trip to Saint Petersburg is. I’m going there in June to get a tattoo by artist Sasha Unisex (I’ve wanted a tattoo for a long time now) and to have a week vacation on my own. I’ve been stressing out like you wouldn’t believe, but it’s so worth it. πŸ™‚ I’ve got my appointment, paid a deposit, took time of work, booked a flight and and B&B and now I feel like it’s really happening. I still need to get a visa, which is the biggest hassle EVER, and get myself a good guide book on the city so I can start making a plan of what I want to see and do while I’m there (fun!). But the big things are arranged and now I get to enjoy the prospect of how awesome my life is going to be for the foreseeable future.

How amazing is it that I get to do stuff like this? That I have a job that I love and that I can take time off for awesome things. That I can afford all of this? That I have this life in which I don’t have to ask anybody for permission to fly to Russia to get a tattoo. I can’t wait for this trip, and I feel privileged that I get to make it.

4 thoughts on “About drawing, hair and a tattoo

  1. Fantastic post; use the force, lady! I’m suuuuuper curious (if you don’t mind sharing); how were you able to book your appointment with Sasha Unisex???? ‘Cause 1) I’m SUUUPER jealous; and B) I’ve been trying to set up my own tattoo-tourism-trip, myself! That’s how I stumbled upon your blog. The fact that it was a GREAT read was a pleasant bonus!

  2. Pingback: Commute drawing | Nifty Eef

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

