Commute drawing

The last couple of days when I took the train to work instead of staring out the window and zoning out to my music, or reading or checking tumblr, I decided to draw in my sketchbook. I greatly enjoy messing about with pencil and just doing some loose sketching. So now I’m going to sketch on my commute regularly, and keep the zoning out, reading and tumblr for the way back home when I’m tired from working anyway. The music stays on both trips. 🙂

I start by looking around for an idea on what to draw, often that will be someone or something in the train with me, because it’s not about being super creative, but it’s about the simple joy of drawing. It doesn’t really matter whether I’m drawing something interesting or good. But when I do get an idea for something fantastical I am not obligated to make my commute drawing actually relate to being a commuter. So this is my plan! I’ll share the drawings by putting a picture of them on my instagram (like I did for my draw every day challenge for a month last year).

Since I started this in the middle of the week, I don’t have a lot commute drawings to show yet, but here they are!
(In addition to the first one I shared in this post.)

26 feb 2014. A sketch of the lady who sat across from me.

Todays #commutedrawing. I pretended like it wasn't raining. Pencil and promarker in my Moleskine sketchbook.

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

27 feb 2014. Inspired by a little boy in the train. I pretended like it wasn’t raining. Pencil and promarker in my Moleskine sketchbook.

2 thoughts on “Commute drawing

  1. Pingback: In which you gets to see the imaginary polaroids I drew this week | EefjeS

  2. Pingback: In which more commute drawings are imaginary polaroids | EefjeS

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

