Blogs, blogs, blogs and also: blogs

Dear reader, I want to talk to you about blogging. Oh no! you gasp, the dreaded blogpost about blogging! Are you so lacking in content ideas that you have nothing else to blog about than blogging? Don’t you have at least a pet to write about? (No.) Fear not! This post is only partially about blogging and the other part will be about blogs I like as a reader.

I am not utterly devoid of ideas for things to post here, in fact I have quite a few swimming around in my brain. The problem is that I am an inconsistent poster. When I think of a thing to write about, or when I have something to share, I just throw it on here immediately. But when I have an idea I sometimes don’t have the time to work it out and then I forget about it again. And so this blog is sometimes full with new posts in a row and sometimes many weeks can go by without anything new. I lack planning. I don’t want this blog to start feeling like a job, like I have to post something even if I don’t feel like sharing anything, but a little more forethought wouldn’t hurt. This will still be my playground and I will keep sharing all odds and ends that I feel like sharing. It will just be a little better organised on my side of things.

This little reorganisation on my part is inspired by Kathleen, a lovely Belgium lady who blogs in Dutch here. She has written a short ebook (expertly designed, one of the reasons I love her) on keeping a calender for your blog. If you can read Dutch I would recommend downloading it. A lot of the things in it you, like me, will already know, but it is a nice summary to spur you into thinking. There are also some cute but functional empty calender designs you can use for your own planning.

For me it really helps to write down a list of ideas for posts and to see if I can spread them out over the month. I know I can keep up with a posting schedule, I did a post once a week challenge for six months and managed that. Though I was often posting the new content at the last possible minute because I was suddenly aware that a whole week had passed already. Keeping a calender for my blog and planning ahead already feels very good, and I’ve only just started. Only time will tell how successful I will be with this. It could be that I am aiming too high creating content wise, but I can always adjust my plans if that turns out to be the case.

Onwards to the blogs I love! I often ignore them for weeks and then suddenly binge on all the posts. Which is basically the same pattern I have when it comes to posting on my own blog. Here’s to keeping up with the stuff I love as well!

I already mentioned Kathleen, who writes about her life, sewing, books and drawing on her blog Verbeelding, which means Imagination. It’s all in Dutch, though worth a look for her web design skills even if you can’t read the words.
Let’s just get all of the Dutchies out of the way immediately!

My friend Marlies is doing research on design in Japan for two years, and she keeps a Dutch blog in which she talks about living in Japan. She writes about the ways in which she comes in contact with the local culture and the things she gets used to vs. the things she doesn’t get used to. There are also some wonderful posts about the Japanese language and studying Japanese typography, which makes me very happy to read about. Check her out on Alleen in Kyoto. (Alone in Kyoto.)

Then we have Anna Denise. Who writes in English! Non-Dutchies can rejoice! She is a wonderful illustrator who keeps a visual journal and always posts interesting things. She lives in the same city as I do, though I’ve never run into her. Which is maybe a good thing because I might just go a little fangirl on her. (HI I LOVE YOUR WORK.)

On the photography side of things I keep coming back to Moments, the blog of Ksenia. Her photos are very good and I love her crisp style. She also has an interest in lomography and journalism, so it’s no wonder I am a part of her audience.

And last but not least, the photography of Evi. She lives in Vienna and documents all the things she sees while developing her photography skills. Visit her on Evis Lens.

There are a lot more blogs I check, several of them very well known, but I decided to make a list here with ladies who are just like me in many ways (and better in others) and who I feel well deserve all the attention I can give them. (You can see a lot more blogs and sites that I like on my Links page.)

5 thoughts on “Blogs, blogs, blogs and also: blogs

  1. Ooooh thank you so much for linking me, much bloglove back to you!

    And I so relate to what you say about being an inconsistent blogger… In my case, it’s also because I’m way too perfectionist about my posts, taking for-e-ver to edit the sentences and end up losing the momentum to throw it out into the world…

    • I’m a little the oposite when it comes to pouring over posts, I get tired of re-reading the same thing over and over again and just put it online right away. I have to get used to the idea that it’s okay to plan posts for later days. 🙂

      And in defence of your perfectionism, it leads to beautifully written posts.

  2. Awww… Thanks for linking me (twice! ha!) and writing such a sweet things! I hope you’ll figure out a system to update your blog more often. I bet you have a lot of interesting things to tell. 😉

    • So far so good! If the current schedule I’m keeping is one I can keep up with only time will tell, but for now I feel good about it.

      I do have to get used to waiting before a post goes online though, like this one, I wrote it several days ago actually, and the waiting before it went online created a little bit of distance that I’m not used to. Normally I write a post and publish it imediately. Instant gratification!

      But I do like knowing I’ve got future post already lined up. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tandartstoerisme | Alleen in Kyoto

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

