In which we discuss my current creative pursuits

There are two commute drawings that I haven’t shared here yet. Some water colour buildings (and a little bit of white acrylic pen) and an imaginary polaroid.

Some buildings for todays #commutedrawing. Water colour pencils and a little bit of a white acrylic pen.

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

Todays #commutedrawing. Imaginary polaroid.

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

But then I sort of stopped making them. A couple of times because the train was really full or I was really tired because I’ve been very busy at work. But lately also because I’ve started focusing on a different creative pursuit. Knitting! I occasionally love knitting and crocheting, it’s a very calming activitiy to make something stitch by stitch. To be able to figure out a pattern after reading it ten times and to actually make a usefull or cute thing.

Looking for a project for this awesome yarn. Any recommendations?

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

I had gotten this awesome yarn a while back in a yarn store in Haarlem, not knowing what I would do with it but loving it enough to just buy it and think of a project later. So I spend a couple of hours browsing Ravelry for a cool pattern to use it for. In the end I settled on this shawl.

I've started on a shawl. Found the pattern at ravelry. πŸ˜€

A post shared by Eefje (@kleinekapitein) on

This was around the point when it became difficult to keep the entire project on the needles, so I bought a round knitting needle that is large enough for it. I am liking how it is turning out. When it is done I’ll have to wet block it to make the stiches settle well, which I haven’t done very often (I’m lazy) but it does improve the prettiness of finished projects so I will have to start doing it. This morning I discovered that I made a little mistake early on in the project, it’s a small thing and nobody will see it unless they hunt for it, but now I know it’s there and that sucks. It’s too far behind me to undo all my work to fix it however.

In the process of this all I’ve actually started using my ravelry account! I made it a while back but didn’t really do anything with it, but now I’ve added my current and some previous projects and I’m happily shelving a lot of patterns in my library for the future. You can find me here, add me as a friend if you’re active on ravelry too!

2 thoughts on “In which we discuss my current creative pursuits

  1. Hihi! You have so many projects! But I believe most of them can be done outside πŸ˜› So why exactly haven’t you been enjoying the sun? πŸ˜›

    • Haha! Because I like being close to my internet. πŸ˜› And also because I don’t really have time on workdays. But I should be spending more weekend days outside! I should keep the tv-show watching for the evenings after work when I wouldn’t go outside anyway and not spend my days off watching the shows I’ve collected over the week. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

